Oh my..

Good friends. Good times. Open bar.

Moderators: Bane, shiram

phreek
Cannon Fodder

Oh my..

Post by phreek »

Holy shit.

I am sitting here having a beer or three with my wife and the Nerd Lounge popped in to my thoughts...

I didn't think I'd still see posts here! I had to google it to find the link...

So what the HELL IS UP everyone?!?!?

phreek
Cannon Fodder

Re: Oh my..

Post by phreek »

OK I'll reply first. I'm still amazed that... 15+ years later some of us still talk?

So about me now. If you remember, I lived in South Dakota for my entire life. I'm 34 now (last week).

I worked as an operations manager at a credit card company in the collections department.. 10.5 years. We utilized collection agencies to help us recover debt. I was in charge of auditing the companies. One of them was/is in Nashville, TN. I visited once a year for about 3 years and developed a professional relationship with one of the managers there. A friendship, really.

They went through many changes and long story short, they had an opening for an operations manager. When I was there in August, the COO said they wanted to hire me. I joked with my friend who works there before, usually drunk, that they should hire me and I would move across country. Well, a week later he called and it sunk in that he was serious.

I took the job, and moved my wife, son, and daughter from South Dakota to Nashville, TN on October 15th, 2015. I absolutely LOVE my new job (if you look at my last post 3 years ago, I hated my job). And this city is absolutely amazing.

Plus, it was 72 degrees today here. Back home it was 25. That alone makes it all worth while.

Anyway, I run the government and retail services department at my new job, a collection agency. We collection on all types of stuff. My main gig is collecting on state taxes.